Ayurvedic Treatment

Anahata Chakra (Heart)

Introduction to the Anahata Chakra (Heart)

In kundalini yoga, anahata chakra is a center of great importance. This is because although awakening from manipura is constant, kundalini has to remain in anahata for quite a long time. It is said that in this present age the consciousness of mankind is passing through a phase of anahata. It means that in many people anahata chakra has started to function, but there is a difference between functioning and awakening. In most people, anahata is not completely active, but it functions slightly. Mooladhara on the other hand is very active and almost awake in the majority of people today.

The location point

Anahata chakra is situated in the spinal column on the inner wall, directly behind the center of the chest. The kshetram is at the heart, and although anahata is known as the heart center, this should not be misinterpreted to mean the biological heart, the muscular pump within the chest. Although its physiological component is the cardiac plexus of nerves, the nature of this center is far beyond the physiological dimension.

Traditional symbology

Although most of the tantric texts say anahata is a shining crimson color, like that of the bandhuka flower, my experience is that it is blue in color. It has twelve petals and on each a letter is inscribed in vermilion: kam, kham, gam, gham, anga, cham, chham, jam, jham, nyam, tam and tham. The inner region is hexagonal in shape, representing the air element, vayu tattva. It is made up of two interlaced triangles, symbolizing the union of Shiva and Shakti. The inverted triangle is the symbol of creativity, Shakti; and the upright triangle represents consciousness or Shiva. The vehicle, located within the hexagon, is a black antelope, which is known for its alertness and fleetness of foot. Above it is situated the bija mantra yam, which is dark grey in color. Within the bindu of this mantra is the presiding deva, Isha (Lord in an all-pervading form), who is lustrous like the sun. With him is the devi Kakini (benefactress of all), who is yellow in color, three-eyed, four-armed, auspicious and exhilarated.

Fate and freewill

In the tantric scriptures it is said that anahata chakra is where the thoughts and desires of the individual are materialized and fulfilled. There are basically two ways of thinking - dependently or independently. Up to manipura chakra the first approach holds true, but once the shakti pierces anahata, the second approach takes precedence.

Sign up for Newsletter

Copyright © 2016, Ayurvedayogashram. All Rights Reserved.
Website Designed & Developed By Net Soft Lab.